Dreams of Mourning

Tears dry on my pillow,
disappearing like the days.
Calendar pages bandage wounds,
but clock hands fail to heal.
I tumble through my memories
hunting for your face, your voice;
always around the corner,
never reached in time.

Sleep is my tormentor; her
shadows play hide-n-seek,
her whispers not quite heard.

She mocks my broken heart,
yet hope remains.

I will find you waiting–

between my dreams and wake.

 

Published in: on November 17, 2014 at 9:04 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://patchworkpoetry.wordpress.com/2014/11/17/dreams-of-mourning/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Written from the prompt: “You know that place between sleep and wake,the place you can still remember dreaming ? that’s where I’ll always love you.that’s where I’ll be waiting.”-Peter Pan

    Like

  2. I love that quote and I love this poem, ‘I tumble through your memories’ says it all.

    Like


Leave a Reply

