Love Affair

I heard the beating of your heart,
and the rhythm enthralled me.

The pattern rolled upward on the crest of a wave,
as it reached towards the sky,

then the beat slowed, became hushed,
as the surf washed gently over the sand.

Such passion…
accompanied by such peace.

I launched by myself
to surf upon your waves,

rising with you on the highest crests
and resting in your arms as we swept up on the shore.

My fresh water keel licked at your salty brine
and I felt your laughter echo off my hull.

We frolicked under sunny skies that warmed
the surface, and denied the coldness of your depths.

The red sky of evening sought to warn us,
but we glanced away, pretending not to see.

Winds plunged your waves to the depths.
My weathered planks were beaten in the storm.

Together we crashed upon the jagged rocks,
splintered wood and frothing angry foam.

I lay broken with pieces strewn,
your salty tears dried upon my hull.

I heard you sing a mourning song
in harmony with the wind.

You swept me off the crags;
carried me in your arms.

You sang to me a lullaby,
as I rested in your deep.

Published in: on April 30, 2011 at 9:17 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://patchworkpoetry.wordpress.com/2011/04/30/love-affair/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That was very pretty.It was calming and yet frantic with movement.I guess that sums up deep relationships.

    Like

  2. I heard that you were writing. I think that’s great! I love watching God use the talents and gifts He puts in His people.

    This poem is beautiful! I look forward to reading more of your poems! May God continue to bless your writing!

    ~Sarah

    Like


Leave a Reply

