A Trusted Friend

I used to like to dance, she said
…And my seams were always perfect
on my stockings, you know

I couldn’t ask the other girls
they would have lied
My mirror didn’t lie
If my seams were crooked
it told me
When they were straight as an arrow
it told me

It didn’t play games like
those Czech girls
I could trust my mirror
Sometimes it told me
things I didn’t want to hear
like how short I was
or how scuffed my shoes were
but I could trust my mirror

That’s why I took it
with me when I moved

Published in: on January 25, 2011 at 7:47 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://patchworkpoetry.wordpress.com/2011/01/25/a-trusted-friend/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Do you have a ‘mirror’ you can trust? Or do you prefer the lies of the ‘Czech girls’?

    Like


Leave a Reply

