Resurrection Found in a Place of Death

Ode to a man esteemed of God, Joseph of Arimathea, puller of nails.

Man of wealth, member of the Council
Secret follower, waiting for the Kingdom
Made to choose.
Can’t condemn.

Go to Pilate, ask permission
Buy some linen, ask for help.
Can’t leave him there.
Can’t leave him there.

Nails pulled, body taken down
Blood stains on my clothes.
Why am I here?
Why am I doing this?

Wrap in linen, add the spices
Nicodemus give me help.
Where are his friends?
Where is the family?

What good will it do?
He’s dead, he’s gone, miracles are over.
What will it cost me?
My position, my status, my wealth?

Nothing to give him but a tomb in the rock.
What do I get back?
What difference will it make?
My tomb, my site of death,
is now a resurrection place.

Published in: on May 11, 2009 at 2:28 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://patchworkpoetry.wordpress.com/2009/05/11/resurrection-found-in-a-place-of-death/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

